Closecancel
  • Home
  • /
  • Driver License & ID Cards
  • /
  • Mandatory Insurance
  • Driver License & ID Cards

    Mandatory Insurance

    It is law in Ohio that you must have insurance to drive any motor vehicle. A vehicle owner may not allow anyone else to drive their motor vehicle without insurance.

    • Proof of insurance must be shown at traffic stops, accident scenes, and vehicle inspections.
    • Minimum required for insurance coverage:
      • $25,000 for injury/death of one person
      • $50,000 for injury/death of two or more people
      • $25,000 for property damage in an accident

    Ohio Revised Code: 4507.212, 4509.101

    Ohio Administrative Code: 4501:1-2

    Contact Information

    Do you have questions?

    Live Chat Mon - Fri 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
    or call us (844) 644-6268