Closecancel
  • Home
  • /
  • Driver License & ID Cards
  • /
  • Motorcycle/Motor Scooter License
  • Driver License & ID Cards


    Motorcycle/Motor Scooter

    To operate a motorcycle or motor scooter on Ohio public roadways, you must hold a valid motorcycle or motor scooter license or endorsement.

    • A motorcycle or motor scooter license is issued if you do not have a valid driver license.
    • A motorcycle or motor scooter endorsement is displayed on your driver license.
    • You are considered a novice for one year. Your license will indicate the date the novice status expires.
    Two or Three Wheels
    • To operate a 2-wheeled motorcycle, you must have a valid 2-wheeled motorcycle endorsement or license.
    • To operate a 3-wheeled motor cycle, you must have a valid 3-wheeled motorcycle endorsement or license.
    • To operate a motor scooter, you must have a valid motor scooter endorsement or license.

    Motorcycle or Motor Scooter Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card (TIPIC)

    To obtain a Motorcycle or Motor Scooter TIPIC, you must be at least age 15 years, six months and pass a motorcycle or motor scooter knowledge test. To prepare, study the Ohio Motorcycle Operator’s Manual and section four of the Digest of Ohio Motor Vehicle Laws.

    Knowledge Test and Vision Screening

    You may go to any driver exam station to take the knowledge test and vision screening to begin the temporary permit process. Prior to testing, you must provide proof of:

    • Full legal name
    • Date of birth
    • Social Security number (if ever assigned)

    Once the knowledge test and vision screening are passed, you can proceed to a deputy registrar license agency to purchase a motorcycle or motor scooter TIPIC within 60 days of passing the test. You must provide proof of:

    • Full legal name
    • Date of birth
    • Social Security number (if ever assigned)
    • Ohio residency
    • Citizenship or legal presence

    For applicant’s under age 18, a parent or guardian must present identification (driver license or ID card) to co-sign for the TIPIC.

    Go to our Acceptable Documents page for a full list of identity documents and links to use our interactive process to assist you with what to bring to a deputy registrar agency.

    Test Failure

    Applicants who fail the knowledge test must wait at least 24 hours before retesting. There is no limit on how many times the knowledge test can be taken.

    TIPIC Restrictions

    The TIPIC is valid for one year from the date of purchase. If it expires, you must start over.

    • Carry the TIPIC at all times when operating a motorcycle or motor scooter
    • May ride during daylight hours only
    • No passengers
    • No riding on interstates or congested roads
    • Must wear a helmet and protective eyewear

    Motorcycle or Motor Scooter License or Endorsement

    Over Age 18

    When you're ready, you can schedule a skills test. The test will take place on an off-street course.

    • You must present a valid TIPIC and wear a helmet and protective eyewear at time of testing.
    • Your motorcycle or motor scooter must be street-legal and in safe working condition.
    • If any part of the skills test is failed, you must wait one week to retest.

    After passing the skills test, you may go to a deputy registrar to purchase a motorcycle or motor scooter license or endorsement before your TIPIC expires.

    The Motorcycle Ohio Basic Course completion card is valid to waive motorcycle skills testing for a period of 60 days from the date of issuance.
    Under Age 18

    Prior to testing for a motorcycle or motor scooter license or endorsement, riders under age 18 must:

    • Complete the probationary driver license requirements
      • Hold the TIPIC for at least six months
      • Complete driver education (to include 24 hours of classroom or online instruction and eight hours of driving time) at an approved driving school
      • Complete 50 hours of driving, with at least 10 hours of night driving, in addition to the driver education requirements
    • Complete a motorcycle safety education course
    The Motorcycle Ohio Basic Course completion card is valid to waive motorcycle skills testing for a period of 60 days from the date of issuance.

    After passing the skills test or a Motorcycle Ohio course, you may go to a deputy registrar agency to purchase a motorcycle or motor scooter license or endorsement within 60 days or before your TIPIC expires, whichever comes first.

    Riding and Skills Test

    A road test can be scheduled:

    Where Do I Go?

    More Information

    Ohio Revised Code: 4507.05, 4507.11

    Moped/Motorized Bicycle

    Riders must follow the rules for mopeds:

    • If under age 18, a protective helmet is required; the chin strap must be properly fastened.
    • Mopeds must be equipped with at least one rear view mirror.
    • Whenever practical, mopeds must be operated within three feet of the right edge of the roadway.
    • You may not carry passengers.

    Riders also must obey traffic laws that apply to bicycles and motor vehicles, including:

    • Obeying traffic signs and signals
    • Traveling in the same direction as other traffic
    • Signaling turns
    • Yielding the right of way

    Moped/motorized bicycle owners are required to obtain and display a rear license plate.

    Moped/Motorized Bicycle License

    Applicants age 14-15, or anyone without a valid driver license, must pass vision, knowledge, and road tests to obtain a moped license.

    • Probationary licenses are required for 14- and 15-year-old operators.
    • If a probationary moped license holder violates state laws regulating moped operation or state or local traffic laws, the license can be revoked until age 16.
    Probationary License Restrictions
    • May ride during daylight hours only
    • No passengers
    • No riding on interstates or congested roads
    • Must wear a helmet and protective eyewear

    Where Do I Go?

    Ohio Revised Code: 4511.521

    Ohio Administrative Code: 4501.23

    Contact Information

    Do you have questions?

    Live Chat Mon - Fri 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
    or call us (844) 644-6268