Closecancel
  • Home
  • /
  • Suspensions & Reinstatements
  • /
  • Alcohol & Drug Suspensions
  • Suspensions & Reinstatements

    View & Pay Reinstatement Fees  

    First Offense Operating a Vehicle under the Influence (OVI) of Alcohol and/or Drugs Suspension

    This type of suspension is placed on a driver with no previous OVI suspensions in the last 10 years when convicted by a court of operating a vehicle while impaired.

    Reinstatement Requirements

    • Serve suspension as determined by the court
    • Pay a reinstatement fee
    • Provide proof of insurance that covers through the length of the suspension

    Ohio Revised Code: 4511.19

    Administrative License Suspension (ALS)

    Positive Test

    When a person is stopped for suspicion of driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol, agrees to take sobriety tests, and the test results are over the legal limit, the officer can take the person’s driver’s license on the spot and a suspension begins immediately.

    Reinstatement Requirements
    • Serve suspension from 90 days up to five years
    • Pay a reinstatement fee
    • Provide current proof of insurance that covers through the end of the suspension

    Refusal to Test

    When a person is stopped for suspicion of driving under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol and refuses sobriety tests, the officer can take the person’s driver’s license on the spot and a suspension begins immediately.

    Reinstatement Requirements
    • Serve suspension from one to five years
    • Pay a reinstatement fee
    • Provide current proof of insurance that covers through the end of the suspension

    Ohio Revised Code: 4511.19

    Physical Control Suspension

    This type of suspension occurs when a vehicle was not being driven when approached by a law enforcement officer and charged with being under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol.

    Reinstatement Requirements

    • Serve a mandatory suspension as determined by the court
    • Pay a reinstatement fee
    • Provide insurance coverage through the duration of the suspension

    Ohio Revised Code: 4511.194

    Operating a Vehicle after Under Age Consumption (OVUAC) Suspension

    This type of suspension happens when a driver under the age of 21, at the time of the traffic offense, was convicted by a court of driving with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .02 percent or more, but less than .08 percent.

    Reinstatement Requirements

    • Serve six-month suspension
    • Completion of a juvenile remedial driving instruction course at an approved school
    • Pay a reinstatement fee
    • Retake a complete driver license examination

    Ohio Revised Code: 4511.194

    Habitual Use of Alcohol/Drugs Suspension

    A person has three or more convictions of driving under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance within a three-year period.

    Reinstatement Requirements

    The suspension will stand until the person:

    • Completes a treatment/rehabilitation program
    • Maintains six months of sobriety from date of treatment program completion
    • Submits a completed Alcohol/Drug Reinstatement form (BMV 2326) to the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

    Ohio Revised Code: 4507.08D

    Ohio Administrative Code: 4501:1-1-16 4501:1-1-18(C)

    Liquor Law Violation Suspension

    A person under age 21 who uses someone else’s driver’s license or alters their own license to purchase alcohol.

    Reinstatement Requirements

    • Serve a one-year suspension
    • Pay a reinstatement fee
    • Retake complete driver license examination

    Ohio Revised Code: 4510.33

    In-State Drug Suspension

    When a person is convicted of certain drug-related offenses, a court may order a suspension from 6 months to indefinitely.

    Reinstatement Requirements

    Serve court suspension and, if the suspension is longer than 89 days, pay a reinstatement fee.

    Ohio Revised Code: 2925.02-37, 4510.17

    Out-of-State Alcohol or Drug Offense Suspension

    When an Ohio resident pleads guilty to or was convicted in any other state or federal court of a drug or alcohol related offense, or was convicted of a violation of law or municipal ordinance related to operating a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

    Reinstatement Requirements

    • Serve six-month suspension
    • Pay a reinstatement fee if the suspension is longer than 89 days

    Ohio Revised Code: 2925, 4510.17, 4511.19

    Contact Information

    Do you have questions?

    Live Chat Mon - Fri 8 a.m. - 5 p.m.
    or call us (844) 644-6268