Closecancel
  • Home
  • /
  • Registrations & Titles
  • /
  • Title a Motor Vehicle
  • Vehicle Titles


    Title a New Motor Vehicle in Ohio

    When you buy a new motor vehicle from an Ohio dealership, the dealer will handle the vehicle title and registration paperwork for you.

    What Do I Need to Bring to the Title Office?

    Ohio Revised Code: 2921.13 4505.06

    Title a Used Motor Vehicle in Ohio

    The seller must complete the “assignment of ownership” portion on the back of the title and then present it to the buyer to finalize the transfer.

    What Do I Need to Bring to the Title Office?

    Important Information to Remember

    • The buyer will pay sales and use tax on the purchase price of the vehicle.
    • Title transfers must take place within 30 days of the date of sale, otherwise a late fee will be assessed.
    • Dual ownership requires both parties to be present unless a notarized power of attorney is provided. Social Security numbers for all parties are required. Photocopies of title are not accepted.
    • If you choose to have a 45-day temporary tag issued, it must be obtained before you transfer the vehicle title into your name. Once an Ohio title is established, you will only be able to purchase permanent Ohio license plates.
    • If you have a lien holder, it must be noted on the assignment portion of the title (current fees).

    Ohio Revised Code: 2921.13

    Title an All-Purpose Vehicle (APV), Off-Highway Motorcycle, or Snowmobile

    Under Ohio law:

    • APVs and off-highway motorcycles are motor vehicles and are titled.
    • Snowmobiles are not motor vehicles and are not titled.

    See vehicle registration requirements for more information.

    What Do I Need to Bring to the Title Office?

    The following evidence is required at the time of titling and is subject to the discretion of the issuing County Clerk of Courts title office:

    • Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) or an Ohio certificate of title in applicant's name
    • Payment for title fees, including a lienholder notation (if applicable), and sales tax on the purchase price (see sales tax rates by county) are required at the time of titling.
    If Purchased before July 1, 1999
    • Proof of ownership (one of the following):
      • Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO)
      • Photograph or pencil tracing of the vehicle identification number (VIN) with a sworn, notarized statement of ownership by the applicant
      • A current insurance policy or declaration page issued to the applicant that describes the vehicle by VIN, year, make, and model

    Out-of-State – No Previous Title

    The following evidence is required at the time of titling and is subject to the discretion of the issuing County Clerk of Courts title office:

    • Certificate of title in applicant's name from the assigned state
    • An out-of-state vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection
    • Payment for title fees, including a lienholder notation (if applicable), and sales tax on the purchase price (see sales tax rates by county) are required at the time of titling.

    Ohio Revised Code: 4519.01

    Title a Mini-Truck, Under-Speed Vehicle (USV), or Utility Vehicle (UTV)

    Under Ohio law, mini-trucks, USV, and UTV are not motor vehicles and are titled for ownership purposes upon the owner’s request. A certificate of title is not required when only being used on private property.

    Road Use Requirements

    If you are using the vehicle for limited on-road use, you must obtain a title and registration.

    Please contact local law enforcement in the city, township, village, or applicable jurisdiction for the ordinances and/or laws.

    See vehicle registration requirements for more information.

    What Do I Need to Bring to the Title Office?

    The following evidence is required at the time of titling and is subject to the discretion of the issuing county Clerk of Courts title office:

    Payment for title fees, including a lienholder notation (if applicable), and sales tax on the purchase price (see sales tax rates by county) are required at the time of titling.

    Ohio Revised Code: 4501.01 4511.214 4511.215

    Ohio Administrative Code: 4501-30

    Title a Motor Scooter

    In Ohio, a motor scooter must be compliant with Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards (FMVSS) and considered roadworthy before it is titled.

    Motor scooters should be equipped with a motor with a piston displacement between 50 and 100 cubic centimeters piston displacement that produces not more than 5 brake horsepower and is capable of propelling the vehicle at a speed greater than 20 miles per hour on a level surface.

    Please Note: Mopeds are not titled in Ohio.

    What Do I Need to Bring to the Title Office?

    Payment for title fees, including a lienholder notation (if applicable), and sales tax on the purchase price (see sales tax rates by county) are required at the time of titling.

    Ohio Revised Code: 4501.01 4511.01 4513.04 4513.05 4513.261 4513.071 4513.21 4513.23

    Title a Repossessed Vehicle

    To receive a repossession title, the secured party (financial institution or individual) must surrender the Ohio title assigned in the name of the lienholder and pay a title fee.

    What Do I Need to Bring to the Title Office?

    • Ohio title assigned in the name of the lienholder
    • Certified copy of the security agreement that includes:
      • the name and address of the debtor and secured party
      • the terms of the contract
      • a description of the secured collateral – year, make, model, and vehicle identification number (VIN)
    • For out-of-state titles only, an out-of-state VIN inspection
    • Applicant affidavit to establish mileage (if applicable)
    • Acceptable identification (please contact your County Clerk of Courts Title Office for details)

    Payment for title fees is required at the time of titling.

    Title a Salvage or Self-Assembled Vehicle

    Before a self-assembled vehicle or a salvage vehicle can be titled in Ohio, an inspection must be completed by the Ohio State Highway Patrol. The inspection is to

    • verify ownership of all parts
    • review all required documentation

    See the Ohio State Highway Patrol Vehicle Inspection Gateway for more information or to schedule an inspection.

    Duplicate Title

    If an original title is lost, stolen or destroyed, you can apply for a duplicate title at a County Clerk of Courts Title Office.

    What Do I Need to Bring to the Title Office?

    Replacement Title

    Any County Clerk of Courts Title Office will issue a replacement title when information on the previously issued title needs to be changed.

    If there is a lien on the vehicle, you must contact the lienholder to make changes to the existing title record.

    What Do I Need to Bring to the Title Office?

    Payment for title fees is required at the time of titling.

    Contact Information

    Please call us at (614) 752-7671 or email Ask Titles

    Mon - Fri 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

    Organ Donor
    Save up to 8 lives

    Give Life
    Go Paperless!
    Set up electronic renewal notifications

    Go Paperless!